Scalloped Dishcloth

bluedishcloth

In our disposable world, where nothing is made to last and our rubbish is becoming an environmental problem, people are slowly trying to head in the other direction again, looking for products that can be used again and again to stop increasing the landfill.  I am by no means a bare bones, no rubbish person, but I do believe that our world is our responsibility and we need to take care of it as much as we can, so I am always looking out for ways to be more recyclable.  I have heard a lot of hype regarding crocheted dishcloths.  As we go through a number of sponges a year in the daily washing up duties, I decided to make a dishcloth that can be used and washed in the washing machine and used again.  I found a lovely pattern on The Crochet Crowd’s page http://thecrochetcrowd.com/crochet-scalloped-dishcloth-tutorial/.  I like this pattern because it has some texture, and, let’s be honest, sometimes those dished need some extra scrubbing to remove baked on food.  To start with, I was loathe to use something so pretty for such a dirty job, but I love it!  It cleans my dishes really well and, when needed, a quick wash in the machine and it is good to go again!  As many people have said, once you start using these cloths, you won’t ever use anything else again, and they are right!!

Leave a Reply

