Lest we forget

Seeing as how today is ANZAC day here in Australia, I thought that I would theme my blog post around that this week.  Last night, my eldest daughter and I sat down for a quick crochet lesson on making poppies.  They are really sweet and so quick to make up.  You may well ask why I feel ANZAC day is important.  Well, to me, I think that we need to remember.  Each year, the number of veterans is getting smaller and it becomes easier to forget why we need to remember.  We need to remember because many, many people have given their lives so that we can live in a free country, and for that I am very grateful.  But, more importantly, we need to remember because war is a horrible thing – we see pictures and hear stories of what it is like during war but living through it is a totally different thing and we need to make sure that it doesn’t happen again.  Complacency is a very dangerous thing.  So, on this day of remembrance, a heartfelt thank you goes out to all those who have served and are still serving in our militaries.  Your sacrifice does not go unnoticed.

Leave a Reply

