Spaghetti yarn

I have wanted to try spaghetti yarn for a long time -I  just haven’t had the right project to try it on.  Finally, this year, my chance has come!  A girlfriend of mine has recently had a new baby and requested one made for her nursery.  I looked up patterns to find one that wasn’t too “holey”, so it was safe to be walking on and around with a baby and came across this pattern from Wink https://crafts.tutsplus.com/tutorials/crochet-a-gorgeous-mandala-floor-rug–craft-6032.  It was really fun to try a new kind of yarn!  I enlarged the pattern quite a lot in order to make it as big as she had asked, but I think it turned out well.  It took around 5 1kg balls of yarn, so it weighs a tonne!  It’s a little wrinkled at the moment, but when it’s on carpet, it sits flatter, and in time, I’m sure it will flatten out as it is used!  I’m very happy with the finished result and my friend was thirlled.  I did find it a bit difficult to crochet with because of it’s thickness – it tended to give me a fairly sore wrist, so I had to take frequent breaks but it hasn’t put me off of trying to make another one for my own children’s bedroom!

2 thoughts on “Spaghetti yarn

Leave a Reply

