20 reasons I love you!

As I’m sure you’re aware, Valentine’s Day is fast approaching.  I personally believe that Valentine’s Day is a good reminder to us to say “I love you” to those we love – not just romantic partners.  We often give our children a card on Valentine’s Day to say we love them – even though we tell them every day!

I was shopping with my sister last week, when I came across a lovely idea –  a jar full of paper hearts to write 20 different reasons I love you on them.  Of course, my crafty, crochet brain immediately thought about how I could make something similar, that would also have a hand made touch and voila!, here it is, 20 reasons I love you.

valentines2

If you’d like to make one yourself, I’ve written down the pattern below.  Please remember, this pattern has not been tested at all, so please let me know if there are errors, but be kind – it’s my first go at designing and writing out a pattern!  If you have any questions, let me know and I’ll happily help you out.

20 reasons I love you

Materials

  • Dk yarn in cream, red and white (or any colours of your choosing)
  • 4mm/G  Crochet hook
  • Jar
  • Coloured paper for hearts
  • Pencil
  • Scissors
  • Yarn needle

Abbreviations

ch – Chain

sl st – Slip Stitch

sc – Single Crochet

hdc – Half double crochet

dc – Double Crochet

tr – Treble

Instructions

Please note – I use US  crochet terms

Firstly, you need to choose a jar.  I have chosen a craft storage jar because it is a bit decorative with it’s metal closure and I’ve had it lying around for awhile, waiting for the perfect project to use it in!

Once you have chosen your jar, you need to make a plain circle piece that will sit nicely on the top.  I used Stylecraft Special dk yarn and my jar has a 9cm wide lid.  The number of rounds you will need to crochet will depend on the size of your lid and tension.  If your lid is smaller than mine, make less rounds.  If your lid is larger, make more!

Lid cover

Using cream, begin with a magic circle.

Round 1: Ch 3 (counts as first dc).  11 dc into ring.  Join to beg ch 3.  Close magic ring. (12dc)

Round 2:  Ch 3 (counts as first dc).  dc into same stitch.  2dc in each stitch around.  Join to beg ch 3. (24 dc)

Round 3:  Ch 3 (counts as first dc).  2dc in next stitch. *dc in next stitch, 2 dc in next stitch* repeat between * * around.  Join to beg ch 3. (36 dc)

Round 4:  Ch 3 (counts as first dc).  1 dc in next stitch *2dc in next stitch, dc in next 2 stitches* repeat between * * around.  Join to beginning ch 3 and fasten off.  Weave in ends.

If you need to make extra rounds to achieve the correct size for your jar, continue following the pattern, increasing the number of dc in between the increases by 1 each round.

Applique Heart

Using red, begin with a magic circle.

Round 1:  Ch 3.  15 dc into circle.  Join to beginning ch 3.  Close magic ring.

Round 2:  Ch 3, tr, tr, tr, dc, hdc, sc, sc, ch 1, tr, ch 1, sc, sc, hdc, dc, tr, tr, tr, ch 3, sl st into the same stitch as the last tr.  Fasten off, leaving a long tail for sewing.

Shape a little with fingers and sew onto the circle already crocheted.

valentines3Small Hearts (make 2)

Using red, begin with a magic circle.

Round 1:  Ch 1.  15sc into ring.  Join to beg ch and close ring.

Round 2:  Ch 2, tr, tr, dc hdc, sc, sc, hdc, ch 1, tr, ch 1, hdc, sc, sc, hdc, dc, tr, tr, ch 2, sl st in the same stitch as the last tr.  Fasten off and weave in ends.

Chain

Using white, join with a sl st into the top of one of the smaller hearts.  Ch to desired length (enough to tie around your jar and allow the hearts to hang a little).  Sl st into the top of the second small heart.  Fasten off and weave in ends.

Finishing off

  • Glue circle with applique heart onto the lid.
  • Tie chain around the top of the jar and fix in place with a little glue if needed.
  • Cut out hearts from paper.
  • Write your 20 reasons on the hearts.
  • Fill the jar with your hearts and gift it to your loved one!

valentines1

I hope you’ve enjoyed my first pattern!  It was fun to make, and I know my husband will love it (despite that fact that he’s already seen it!).  I’d love to see your version as well!  Please share it here in the comments or on my facebook page.

Leave a comment