Dyeing for rainbow yarn!

I recently picked up a copy of  “Stitch Craft Create”magazine.

It included an article on hand dyeing yarn. It’s not something I’ve really considered doing before – I assumed it would involve expensive dyes that were complicated to use.  However, this article declares it can be done using food colouring and that the results are colourfast.  That sounded easy enough, so I decided to give it a try. I spent a little time winding my yarn into a skein and soaking it in preparation for dyeing. I decided to immersion dye it to try and get a rainbow effect. Even if it doesn’t work out, it has been fun watching the colours slowly creep up the side of the bowls and to see that different colours move at different rates (the blue went fastest!).


An hour or so later……

Well, I’m impressed! It didn’t turn out exactly as I had imagined but it certainly worked and the colour stayed fast when rinsing – yay! It’s currently drying on a clothes rack (it’s horrid weather here at the moment!) and I’m keen to try crocheting something up with it!


What would I do differently? Next time, I’d probably mix an orange and green bowl and not just let the creeping colours mix.  I’m definitely planning on playing with this method again. It was easy and fun and great to get a yarn dyed to my personal specifications! Highly recommended!

Leave a Reply

