Christmas is coming!

dalekcu dalek

I love Christmas!  And I love making special hand made gifts for my friends and family if I come across the perfect thing.  Last year, I was talking to my golf enthusiast brother-in-law and suggested I could make a Doctor Who themed golf club cover for his Christmas present.  Sounded simple enough!  I began my search for a pattern, and just couldn’t find something.  So, I had to do the unthinkable – combine two patterns.  One day, I would like to head towards designing my own patterns, but for the moment, I can follow a pattern, but changing them leads into dangerous territory for me!  I found this gorgeous Dalek pattern http://www.lovecrochet.com/dalek-amigurumi-crochet-pattern-by-lucy-collin and a pattern for a golf club sock and set about combining them!  In the end, I think it worked!!  It took ages as they don’t live close to me, so I couldn’t try it on the golf club to see if it fitted properly or not, but, I decided in the end to just go ahead and finish it (after it had sat around my house for almost 12 months!) and hope for the best.  My brother-in-law loved it (and it fit – phew!), and I hope it brings him much entertainment out on the golf course!

Leave a Reply

